BREAKING NEWS: Alban Bagbin of the NDC wins speakership position of the 8th parliament


After a long standing night of the inauguration of the 8th parliament of the 4th republic of Ghana.

Members of the National Democratic Congress in Parliament have nominated experienced lawmaker and current Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament Alban Bagbin as Speaker in the 8th Parliament which begins on 6th Wednesday evening and ended on the morning of Thursday .

After the end of voting by the elected MPs, Nadowli Kaleo lawmaker won against Speaker Mike Oquaye as the New Patriotic Party (NPP) who served as the speaker of the 7th Parliament of the 4th Republic.

Both parties have equal numbers in the House – 137 each- with the only independent MP-elect opting to sit with the NPP.

Yet to be confirmed by the clerk, it has been known Alban Bagbin won with 138 votes, Mike Oquaye got 136 votes and 1 rejected ballot.

Confusion nearly broke when MP for Tema west, Carlos Ahenkorah snatched uncounted ballot papers which was believed to be the votes casted for Alban Bagbin.

Carlos was chased by the NDC MPs for the ballot papers. The NPP MPs look sad and were disappointed in losing the speakership to the NDC.